Financial industry / regulation and brokers
Broker & Regulatory Developments
Follow important regulatory decisions, broker announcements, trading technology developments and changes affecting financial market participants worldwide.
Independent, source-linked coverage of financial regulation, trading providers, market infrastructure and investor protection. The briefings explain what changed, who may be affected, and what remains uncertain.
The review date above is an editorial pass of this page. It is not the publication date of an announcement. Each briefing has its own WiT Markets date, and each official document has its own source date. 16 briefings are published. Named provider announcements are still a separate, empty file.
Featured Regulatory Developments
Three published briefings. Each one is a WiT Markets note of an official document. The status is the status in that document.
ConsultationAustraliaConsultation
ASIC proposes extending CFD retail protections for another decade
ASIC consultation CS 64, released 12 October 2026, proposes a 10-year extension and amendments to the CFD product intervention order. Comments close on 9 November 2026.
Why it matters. If the proposal is later adopted, it could change how CFD issuers set initial margin, how they treat opposing positions, how discounts are offered, and which digital-asset-settled derivatives sit inside the retail protections. None of that has happened because the consultation is still open.
Supervisory findingsUnited KingdomSupervisory findings
FCA highlights continuing concerns about overnight CFD financing charges
On 15 October 2026 the FCA published good and poor practice after a survey of 81 CFD firms. The concerns are about overnight financing charges, including hedged positions. They are not findings against a named firm.
Why it matters. Retail clients comparing CFD providers can be charged to hold a position overnight, and a hedged pair can still attract those charges. The FCA is telling firms that the level and the explanation of those charges are part of the Consumer Duty price and value work. The publication does not set a new numeric cap.
Supervisory actionUnited KingdomSupervisory action
FCA says 21 CFD firms have closed after action on misuse of UK authorisation
On 25 September 2026 the FCA said 21 CFD firms had closed since 2025 and three more were cancelling permissions. The release does not say all 24 were sanctioned, and it names no firm.
Why it matters. A consumer can see a familiar brand and still be contracted with a different legal entity, in a different country, outside the protections that attach to the UK permission. The release is a reason to read the account entity. It is not a finding about CFD providers the FCA did not include.
Loading the published list.
Regulatory updates
Consultations, final rules, supervisory statements, guidance and authorisation developments. One briefing can also sit under investor protection or market infrastructure. It is not copied into a second article.
- ASIC proposes extending CFD retail protections for another decade
ASIC consultation CS 64, released 12 October 2026, proposes a 10-year extension and amendments to the CFD product intervention order. Comments close on 9 November 2026.
Australian Securities and Investments Commission · Consultation · Source 12 October 2026 - FCA highlights continuing concerns about overnight CFD financing charges
On 15 October 2026 the FCA published good and poor practice after a survey of 81 CFD firms. The concerns are about overnight financing charges, including hedged positions. They are not findings against a named firm.
Financial Conduct Authority · Supervisory findings · Source 15 October 2026 - FCA says 21 CFD firms have closed after action on misuse of UK authorisation
On 25 September 2026 the FCA said 21 CFD firms had closed since 2025 and three more were cancelling permissions. The release does not say all 24 were sanctioned, and it names no firm.
Financial Conduct Authority · Supervisory action · Source 25 September 2026 - FCA opens authorisation applications for the UK’s forthcoming crypto regime
On 30 September 2026 the FCA opened authorisation applications for firms preparing for the UK cryptoasset regime. The regime is scheduled for 25 October 2027. An application is not an authorisation.
Financial Conduct Authority · Authorization gateway · Source 30 September 2026 - ESMA says some perpetual derivatives may fall inside CFD restrictions
On 24 February 2026 ESMA reminded firms that certain products marketed as perpetual futures can fall inside national CFD product intervention rules when they meet the CFD definition. The name of the product is not the test.
European Securities and Markets Authority · Supervisory statement · Source 24 February 2026 - ESMA sets expectations for services in stablecoins that do not comply with MiCA
On 8 October 2026 ESMA published an opinion on crypto-asset services involving asset-referenced tokens and e-money tokens that do not comply with MiCA. The opinion does not cover every stablecoin, and it does not regulate brokers outside the European Union.
European Securities and Markets Authority · Supervisory opinion · Source 8 October 2026 - EU brokers and settlement providers are told to prepare for T+1 in October 2027
On 16 October 2026 ESMA said the EU switches to T+1 settlement on 11 October 2027, and that allocation and confirmation requirements apply from 7 December 2026. The change is about securities settlement, not CFD close-out.
European Securities and Markets Authority · Implementation preparation · Source 16 October 2026 - SEC grants temporary conditional relief for certain tokenized US stock venues
On 17 September 2026 the SEC announced a temporary conditional exemption for defined tokenized-securities venues trading tokenized NMS stock. The relief is not a blanket approval of tokenized trading platforms.
US Securities and Exchange Commission · Conditional exemption · Source 17 September 2026 - FCA publishes final rules to narrow UK transaction reporting
On 3 August 2026 the FCA published PS26/15, with final rules that change the scope and content of UK transaction reporting. The new regime is due to come into force on 3 April 2028. It is not in force on the publication date.
Financial Conduct Authority · Final rule · Source 3 August 2026 - ESMA updates transparency guidance for OTC derivatives and tick sizes
On 15 October 2026 ESMA updated its transparency manual with guidance on which OTC derivatives are subject to transparency and on the tick-size regime. Part of the OTC reference-data guidance is described as a draft until related technical standards are in force.
European Securities and Markets Authority · Guidance · Source 15 October 2026 - MAS says 37 digital payment token providers are licensed
On 5 August 2026 the Monetary Authority of Singapore told Parliament that 37 digital payment token providers are licensed, out of close to 300 applications. The reply describes the regime already in place. It does not announce a new rule.
Monetary Authority of Singapore · Supervisory statement · Source 5 August 2026 - DFSA crypto token rules are in force in the DIFC
On 12 January 2026 the Dubai Financial Services Authority brought an updated crypto-token framework into force in the Dubai International Financial Centre. Firms now assess whether a token meets the suitability criteria. The DFSA no longer publishes a list of recognised crypto tokens.
Dubai Financial Services Authority · In force · Source 12 January 2026 - CFTC proposes to include certain event contracts in the swap definition
On 9 October 2026 the US Commodity Futures Trading Commission asked for comment on a proposal to define swap so that it expressly includes event contracts, including contracts on sports, politics, culture and weather. The proposal is not a final rule. The press release does not give the Federal Register date that starts the comment period.
Commodity Futures Trading Commission · Consultation · Source 9 October 2026
Broker and trading platform developments
A named fee change, platform release or merger is published only from that provider’s own document, with the legal entity identified. No notice of that kind is on file. A regulator’s notice that names a firm is listed separately. It is not the firm’s own announcement.
What would be recorded
- The brand a client sees, and the legal entity that holds the account.
- The country of incorporation, the regulator, and any group company named in the notice.
- The contracting entity. A group is not treated as one authorised firm.
An action against one company is not copied onto every affiliate. Comparison pages stay on their own review cycle.
Class-level supervisory notes
These official documents discuss firms as a class. They do not name the contracting entity, so they are not provider announcements.
- FCA highlights continuing concerns about overnight CFD financing charges
- FCA says 21 CFD firms have closed after action on misuse of UK authorisation
- MAS says 37 digital payment token providers are licensed
- SFC sets a July 2027 date for phishing-resistant broker login
- DFSA crypto token rules are in force in the DIFC
A regulator named this firm
The name comes from the regulator’s document. A provisional step is not a final decision, and it is not attributed to any other company.
Trading technology and market infrastructure
Settlement, reporting, transparency data and tokenized trading venues, from the official document. A provider’s claim about speed or cost is not treated as a tested result.
- EU brokers and settlement providers are told to prepare for T+1 in October 2027
On 16 October 2026 ESMA said the EU switches to T+1 settlement on 11 October 2027, and that allocation and confirmation requirements apply from 7 December 2026. The change is about securities settlement, not CFD close-out.
Implementation preparation · Source 16 October 2026 - SEC grants temporary conditional relief for certain tokenized US stock venues
On 17 September 2026 the SEC announced a temporary conditional exemption for defined tokenized-securities venues trading tokenized NMS stock. The relief is not a blanket approval of tokenized trading platforms.
Conditional exemption · Source 17 September 2026 - FCA publishes final rules to narrow UK transaction reporting
On 3 August 2026 the FCA published PS26/15, with final rules that change the scope and content of UK transaction reporting. The new regime is due to come into force on 3 April 2028. It is not in force on the publication date.
Final rule · Source 3 August 2026 - ESMA updates transparency guidance for OTC derivatives and tick sizes
On 15 October 2026 ESMA updated its transparency manual with guidance on which OTC derivatives are subject to transparency and on the tick-size regime. Part of the OTC reference-data guidance is described as a draft until related technical standards are in force.
Guidance · Source 15 October 2026 - SFC sets a July 2027 date for phishing-resistant broker login
On 9 July 2026 the Hong Kong SFC told internet brokers and licensed virtual-asset firms to stop relying on one-time passwords for client login and device binding. Robust authentication is due no later than 8 July 2027. Large internet brokers are expected to move immediately.
Guidance · Source 9 July 2026
Investor protection
Retail product restrictions, financing disclosures and the difference between a UK permission and an overseas affiliate. A warning in a regulator’s document is not a rating of a broker.
- ASIC proposes extending CFD retail protections for another decade
ASIC consultation CS 64, released 12 October 2026, proposes a 10-year extension and amendments to the CFD product intervention order. Comments close on 9 November 2026.
Consultation · Australia - FCA highlights continuing concerns about overnight CFD financing charges
On 15 October 2026 the FCA published good and poor practice after a survey of 81 CFD firms. The concerns are about overnight financing charges, including hedged positions. They are not findings against a named firm.
Supervisory findings · United Kingdom - FCA says 21 CFD firms have closed after action on misuse of UK authorisation
On 25 September 2026 the FCA said 21 CFD firms had closed since 2025 and three more were cancelling permissions. The release does not say all 24 were sanctioned, and it names no firm.
Supervisory action · United Kingdom - ESMA says some perpetual derivatives may fall inside CFD restrictions
On 24 February 2026 ESMA reminded firms that certain products marketed as perpetual futures can fall inside national CFD product intervention rules when they meet the CFD definition. The name of the product is not the test.
Supervisory statement · European Union - SFC sets a July 2027 date for phishing-resistant broker login
On 9 July 2026 the Hong Kong SFC told internet brokers and licensed virtual-asset firms to stop relying on one-time passwords for client login and device binding. Robust authentication is due no later than 8 July 2027. Large internet brokers are expected to move immediately.
Guidance · Hong Kong - FSCA provisionally withdraws the FXNovus financial services licence
On 7 October 2026 the South African Financial Sector Conduct Authority provisionally withdrew the financial services licence of FXNovus (Pty) Ltd, FSP 50963. The firm must not conduct further financial services business or take further client funds while the investigation continues.
Supervisory action · South Africa - AFM warns that Ufunded’s funded trading needs a Dutch licence
The Dutch Authority for the Financial Markets has published a warning that Ufunded LLC provides CFD investment services in the Netherlands without an AFM licence. An interim court allowed the warning to be published. An appeal filed on 22 June 2026 has no recorded judgment on the AFM status sheet.
Supervisory action · Netherlands
Explore recent updates by jurisdiction
Each jurisdiction has a recent briefing whose official source was read on 22 October 2026. One briefing is not a complete account of that jurisdiction’s law, and the rules are not the same from one place to another.
United Kingdom
The notes are the FCA documents read for this page. They are not a complete account of UK law, and they do not give every firm the same permissions.
European Union
National authorities adopt and supervise some of the measures ESMA describes. This page does not restate each national rule.
United States
The notes on file are an SEC conditional exemption for certain tokenized stock venues, and a CFTC proposal about event contracts. They are not a survey of every US market regulator.
Australia
The item on file is a consultation. The current product intervention order is a separate instrument, and an extension still needs Ministerial approval.
Singapore
The briefing is the 5 August 2026 parliamentary reply on virtual-asset providers. It describes the licensing regime already in place. It is not a new rule.
Hong Kong
The briefing is the 9 July 2026 expectation on phishing-resistant login for internet brokers and licensed virtual-asset firms. It is not a statute.
United Arab Emirates
The briefing is the DFSA crypto-token framework that came into force in the Dubai International Financial Centre on 12 January 2026. It does not describe every UAE regulator or free zone.
South Africa
The briefing is the 7 October 2026 provisional withdrawal of one firm’s financial-services licence. A provisional step is not a final finding.
Netherlands
The briefing is the AFM public warning about one named firm’s funded-trading service. An interim court allowed publication. A later appeal is on the status sheet, and this page does not treat that appeal as decided.
Regulatory calendar
Dates stated in the official documents. A consultation closing date, an implementation deadline and a commencement date are labelled differently. Nothing here is a reminder feed.
Consultation closingAustraliaASIC
CFD product intervention consultation closes
ASIC asked for comments by 5 pm AEDT on Monday 9 November 2026. A closing time is not a decision to extend the order.
Implementation deadlineEuropean UnionESMA
Allocation and confirmation requirements begin
ESMA said investment firms and their clients must comply with the new allocation and confirmation requirements from 7 December 2026. That is earlier than the settlement-cycle change.
Application dateUnited KingdomFCA
Date the FCA gave firms that intend to continue under the new crypto regime
The FCA said firms that intend to continue operating in the UK should apply by 28 February 2027. An application is not an authorisation.
Current instrument expiryAustraliaASIC
Current CFD product intervention order is due to expire
ASIC said the current order is due to expire on 23 May 2027. Any extension is subject to Ministerial approval. The expiry date is not itself an extension.
Implementation deadlineHong KongSFC
Phishing-resistant login is due for internet brokers and licensed virtual-asset firms
The SFC circular dated 9 July 2026 says robust authentication for client login and device binding is due as soon as practicable and no later than 8 July 2027. Large internet brokers are expected to implement those solutions immediately. The circular is an expectation, not a statute.
Scheduled transitionEuropean UnionESMA
EU move to T+1 settlement
ESMA said the European Union will switch to settlement one business day after the trade on 11 October 2027. This date is about securities settlement, not the close-out of a CFD.
Scheduled commencementUnited KingdomFCA
UK cryptoasset regime is scheduled to come into force
The FCA said the new regime is due to come into force on 25 October 2027. The gateway being open does not mean an applicant is authorised.
Effective dateUnited KingdomFCA
Revised UK transaction reporting regime comes into force
The FCA said the new transaction reporting regime will come into force on 3 April 2028. Final rules were published earlier. They are not described as already in force.
Source dates already passed
These are the publication dates of the official documents. They stay on the page after the day has passed. They are not deleted, and they are not the WiT Markets briefing date.
- 12 January 2026DFSA crypto token rules are in force in the DIFC
- 24 February 2026ESMA says some perpetual derivatives may fall inside CFD restrictions
- 22 June 2026AFM warns that Ufunded’s funded trading needs a Dutch licence
- 9 July 2026SFC sets a July 2027 date for phishing-resistant broker login
- 3 August 2026FCA publishes final rules to narrow UK transaction reporting
- 5 August 2026MAS says 37 digital payment token providers are licensed
- 17 September 2026SEC grants temporary conditional relief for certain tokenized US stock venues
- 25 September 2026FCA says 21 CFD firms have closed after action on misuse of UK authorisation
- 30 September 2026FCA opens authorisation applications for the UK’s forthcoming crypto regime
- 7 October 2026FSCA provisionally withdraws the FXNovus financial services licence
- 8 October 2026ESMA sets expectations for services in stablecoins that do not comply with MiCA
- 9 October 2026CFTC proposes to include certain event contracts in the swap definition
- 12 October 2026ASIC proposes extending CFD retail protections for another decade
- 15 October 2026FCA highlights continuing concerns about overnight CFD financing charges
- 15 October 2026ESMA updates transparency guidance for OTC derivatives and tick sizes
- 16 October 2026EU brokers and settlement providers are told to prepare for T+1 in October 2027
Prop trading developments
A funded-trading warning is included when the regulator’s own page was read. A calculator result is not a news item, and one named firm is not the whole sector.
Prediction market developments
Event-contract proposals stay proposals. The market page explains the structure. It is not this briefing.
How these briefings are checked
A regulatory item starts from an official document: a regulator, a finance ministry, or the provider’s own notice. Pages from other publishers are not rewritten as this desk’s reporting. The documents for the briefings above were read on 22 October 2026. That check date is on the source record. It is not a claim that the law was reviewed again after that day.
A consultation asks for comments. A final rule has been published and may still have a later start date. Guidance and a supervisory opinion explain an authority’s expectations. Supervisory findings are observations from a review. Supervisory action is a step the authority says it has taken. None of those labels is changed into “in force” unless the document says the requirement has started. If a proposal is later finalised, the original briefing keeps its history and a later briefing records the new document.
Enforcement is used only when the document reports an enforcement step. An investigation that has been opened is not written as a completed sanction. A sector finding is not pinned on a firm the document does not name. A provider’s claim about its own platform is attributed to the provider. Jurisdictions follow the authority that published the document. They are not merged into one set of client protections.
The briefing date is the day WiT Markets published the note. The source date is the day on the official document. An event date or a commencement date is stored only when the document states one. Corrections are logged on the corrections page. This page’s review date is not moved because the layout changed.
Left out of the feed
- ASIC media release 26-193MR. Opened on 22 October 2026. The fetched page did not state a publication date, so no briefing was written and the findings are not summarised here.
- ASIC media release 26-004MR. Opened on 22 October 2026. The fetched page did not state a publication date, so no briefing was written and the findings are not summarised here.
News methodologyEditorial policyCorrectionsReport an errorAll news
Sources and review
Written by: WiT Markets Editorial. Writes and structures WiT Markets pages. Separates a sourced fact from a cell that is Not confirmed.
Review: Editorially reviewed. This is not a qualified specialist review and it is not a legal sign-off.
Last reviewed: . Next review due . The date is an editorial pass. It is not a live check of every third-party fee.
Regulatory and official sources
- ASIC consultation CS 64, CFD product intervention order, 12 October 2026 — checked 22 October 2026
- FCA, CFD firms good and poor practice, 15 October 2026 — checked 22 October 2026
- FCA, CFD firms and misuse of UK authorisation, 25 September 2026 — checked 22 October 2026
- FCA, cryptoasset authorisation gateway, 30 September 2026 — checked 22 October 2026
- ESMA statement on CFD measures and perpetual derivatives, 24 February 2026 — checked 22 October 2026
- ESMA opinion on services in non-compliant stablecoins, 8 October 2026 — checked 22 October 2026
- ESMA, one year to T+1 settlement, 16 October 2026 — checked 22 October 2026
- SEC press release 2026-90, tokenized NMS stock, 17 September 2026 — checked 22 October 2026
- FCA policy statement PS26/15, UK transaction reporting, 3 August 2026 — checked 22 October 2026
- ESMA transparency manual update, 15 October 2026 — checked 22 October 2026
- MAS parliamentary reply on virtual asset service providers, 5 August 2026 — checked 22 October 2026
- SFC circular on phishing-resistant authentication, 9 July 2026 — checked 22 October 2026
- DFSA crypto token framework, in force 12 January 2026 — checked 22 October 2026
- FSCA press release, provisional withdrawal of FXNovus licence, 7 October 2026 — checked 22 October 2026
- AFM public warning on Ufunded — checked 22 October 2026
- AFM status sheet on the Ufunded warning, updated to 22 June 2026 — checked 22 October 2026
- Rotterdam court, preliminary ruling on the Ufunded warning, 30 January 2026 — checked 22 October 2026
- CFTC press release 9310-26, event contracts and the swap definition, 9 October 2026 — checked 22 October 2026
Other sources
- WiT Markets methodology — checked 13 October 2026
Methodology. Editorial policy. Corrections. Report an error.